Awesome Vegan Chilli Base

I made the leap to Veganism earlier this year, I had planned to transition over a few months but like most things I do jumped straight in with both feet and I haven’t looked back since (well except on the odd occasion that mean people around me buy cream cakes…but even then I haven’t given in!)

I suppose I started out with the mindset that I would veganize some of my tried and tested meals to make #veganfamilydinners, the obvious staple to veganize was a Chilli. I’m afraid to report though that my first few attempts were, just lacking something. They didn’t have that depth of flavour that unfortunately meat had brought to my chillies before.

wp-1472394716876.jpg

I decided to pull together some really punchy basic ingredients to make a base for my chilli, it was clear that just a bit of tomato puree and some spices wasn’t going to cut it. So here it is my Awesome Vegan Chilli base. And the best thing about chilli is you can serve it so many ways and mix it up. I like to use up any left over veggies lurking in my fridge, I have to add black beans (love them so so much) and serve it with a big dollop of home made guacamole

wp-1472394708579.jpg

Ingredients:

  • .1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes (Aldi do a jar for 99p)
  • 1/2 cup of roasted peppers from a jar (Aldi do a jar for 99p)
  • 1 tbsp of Cacao nibs crushed
  • 2 tbsp of tomato puree
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp of Cumin
  • 1 tsp of Smoked Paprika (dependent on taste decide how hot you want your paprika to be, I choose the sweet version if i’m making this for the family)
  • Large pinch of chilli flakes

What you need to do:

Easiest recipe in the world this one – get all of the above ingredients and bung them in the blender. Whizz up until a lovely paste consistency (add a little water if needed).

wp-1472394699492.jpg

Then when making a chilli, saute your onions and then add the paste when you would normally add the tomato puree (or after about 8 minutes if you don’t..), cook on a low heat for 5-10 mins and then add all of your other ingredients that you’ve chosen for your chilli (chilli is the easiest dish in the world, so i’m not going to put up a full recipe for it, you probably do it way better than me anyway)!

wp-1472394688331.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

