Happy Veganuary! Lets milk it!

Holy Cow! There are so many different plant milks available!

20170101_154138.jpg

There was thing holding me back becoming Vegan and strangely it was also the one thing that made me want to go Vegan. (I’ll talk about my issues with the Dairy industry at some point in a later blog post…). I drink a lot of coffee and I have muesli with milk every morning (i’m a creature of habit), I needed to find a milk that I liked or I knew I’d never be able to make the next step!

20170101_154115.jpg

20170101_154045.jpg

Thankfully there are LOADS of plant based milks and they’re delicious! I’ve found for myself personally that different milks work for different needs. I tend to have almond milk in my coffee at home, soy if i’m having a latte out and soy on my muesli in the morning (I go for the unsweetened normally from Aldi, a lot cheaper than some of the branded options which tend to retail for double the price). Really like a brand called Oatley that do Oat milk, definitely the closest to “cows milk” in taste. They also do a single cream and a “foamable” milk perfect for Lattes. Koko is a brand of coconut milk, lovely in coffee but my favourite use for this milk is a decadent coconut rice pudding (i’ll be posting the recipe in the next few days, so subscribe to the blog and keep your eyes peeled)!

20170101_154101.jpg

Look at all of this glorious choice!

  • Soy Milk
  • Rice Milk
  • Almond Milk
  • Hemp Milk
  • Coconut Milk
  • Oat Milk
  • Flax Milk
  • Cashew Milk

I really recommend trying them all and seeing which works for you. Most health food shops sell small single use cartons so you don’t need to buy full size and waste any until you’re sure.

Today’s Vegan Inspiration

Avocado on Toast

wp-1483285360396.jpg

This is a lunch time staple of mine. Super easy and delicious. I toast some seeded bread, spread on a thin layer of hummus, top with avocado (some people have some serious skills at making their avocado’s look beautiful on toast…I am not one of those persons, seriously “I aint got time for that”) and I finish with a sprinkle of hemp seeds.

I hope you enjoyed today’s post – check back tomorrow for more Veganuary Inspiration!

Leave a Reply

